The Organizers

International Union of Forest Research Organizations (IUFRO) is the global network for forest science cooperation, uniting more than 15,000 scientists from almost 700 member organizations in over 110 countries that cooperate on a voluntary basis ( Their mission is to advance research excellence and knowledge sharing, and to foster the development of science-based solutions to forest-related challenges for the benefit of forests and people worldwide.
IUFRO activities are organized in divisions and working groups dedicated to different research aspects and collaboration groups.
DIVISION 8 Forest Environment is the main force behind this conference but inter divisional exchange is the main objective to enrich knowledge co-production. IUFRO Division 8 activities aim at providing a platform and a network for scientific progress and exchange on forest management and planning, including conservation of forested areas. An important effort relies on creating the needed synergy between efforts maturing in forest science communities with those oriented towards global problems, including global change and biodiversity erosion. All forested biome of the world, including boreal, temperate, Mediterranean, tropical humid and tropical dry forest are taken into consideration. Connections with all Divisions and Task Forces dealing with complementary topics such as sustainable silviculture, physiology, genetics, forest operations, modelling, wood products, social sciences and forest health are ALSO at the core of the activity of D8.

The National Institute of Agricultural Technology (INTA) is a decentralized public body created in 1956, with presence throughout Argentina. The Institute has a headquarters, 15 regional centers, 52 experimental stations, 6 research centers, 22 research institutes, and more than 350 extension units.
INTA’s objectives and efforts are oriented towards innovation as the engine of national development. As a member of the National System of Science, Technology and National Innovation, INTA develops capacities for the agro-industrial sector and participates in networks that foster inter-institutional cooperation. In addition, INTA generates knowledge and technologies that it puts at the service of different sectors of society, through its extension, information and communication systems.
INTA’s contributions allow the country to achieve greater potential and generate new opportunities to access regional and international markets with products and services having high added value.

Scientific Committee

Scientific Committee


Dr Sandra Luque (IRSTEA-TETIS, France)

Dr Jose Alberto Gobbi (INTA, Argentina)

Prof. Giovanni Sanesi (University of Bari, Italy)
Prof Louis Iverson (US FS, USA)
Prof João Azevedo (Instituto Politécnico de Bragança, Portugal)
Dr Alexia STOKES (CIRAD, France)
Prof Yeda Maria Malheiros De Oliveira (Embrapa, Brazil)
Dr Manuel Guariguata (CIFOR, Costa Rica)
Dr Pablo Peri (INTA, Argentina)

Dr Luis Inostroza (Geographisches Institut, Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Germany )
Dr Adison Altamirano (Universidad de la Frontera Temuco, Chile)
Dr Frédéric Gosselin (IRSTEA, France)
Dr Graciela Rusch (NINA, Norway)
Dr Victor Avila Akerberg (ICAR, UNAM, Mexico)
Ms Shona Myers (INTECOL, New Zealand)
Dr Alice C. Hughes (ATBC Asia-Pacific – Chinese Academy of Sciences)
Dr Dolors Armenteras (Universidad Nacional de Colombia)
Prof. Christine Fürst (Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg, Germany)
Dr Plinio Sist (Cirad, France)

Communication Officer

Dr Pinar Pamukcu-Albers (Nature Conservation Centre Turkey) <>

Organizing Committee

Section under development. Please come back soon.

Key Partners


We greatly appreciate the important role of key partners in the funding, planning, coordination and organization of the Conference.

National Research Institute of Science and Technology for Environment and Agriculture (France)

International Association for Landscape Ecology

Donors and Sponsors

If you are interested in supporting the Conference, please contact us by mail:

Sponsorship information

< Download pdf with details >

Exhibitor information

< Download pdf with details >